Issue with Admin Panel since upgrade to 1.4.2



  • Hello everyone,

    I'm having trouble with my admin panel since the latest upgrade.

    A few bits of text are missing, for example on buttons or descriptions of certain functionalities.

    Does anyone have an idea?

    Thanks

    0_1482873757940_acp title.png

    0_1482873703374_acp title(1).png


  • Admin

    Hey there, are you using en-GB as your language? Does it work better with that language?



  • Hi Julian,

    Sorry to bother you again.
    I'm using French and I did switch it up to English and did restart Nodebb after that but I still got the same problem.

    If I open my admin dashboard, the tab in Firefox is just called "acp-title" for example.

    Now that I'm playing around with it, if I hit F5 to refresh an admin page, I do get everything working again. But as soon as I go on another admin page, the issue is back until I refresh the page.
    The "acp-title" mention on the tab doesn't change even if I hit F5.


  • Admin

    Hm in that case, do you see any errors in the web console?

    /cc @PitaJ



  • Thanks Julian.
    You were right, I had a translator.js:49 var assign = Object.assign || jQuery.extend; error that wasn't there yesterday and it turns out that this morning I was back running node v0.10.36, I had forgot to set nvm alias default v6.2.1 since that was the version I used to do my upgrade to nodebb v1.4.2.

    Sorry about that! My bad.

    Nevertheless, the error regarding the admin panel and the tab's name in Firefox is still there though.

    This is what I get when I run a ./nodebb dev

     error:  Error: listen EADDRINUSE 0.0.0.0:4567
        at Object.exports._errnoException (util.js:1007:11)
        at exports._exceptionWithHostPort (util.js:1030:20)
        at Server._listen2 (net.js:1253:14)
        at listen (net.js:1289:10)
        at net.js:1399:9
        at _combinedTickCallback (internal/process/next_tick.js:77:11)
        at process._tickCallback (internal/process/next_tick.js:98:9)
    28/12 07:48:20 [11394] - error: NodeBB address in use, exiting...
    [cluster] Child Process (11394) has exited (code: 0, signal: null)
    

    I still have to hit F5 on every admin page in order to get all the text.



  • And if I try to run a ./nodebb setup I'm stuck with this again

    MongoError: Index with name: _key_1_value_-1 already exists with different options
        at Function.MongoError.create (/root/nodebb/node_modules/mongodb/node_modules/mongodb-core/lib/error.js:31:11)
        at /root/nodebb/node_modules/mongodb/node_modules/mongodb-core/lib/connection/pool.js:483:72
        at authenticateStragglers (/root/nodebb/node_modules/mongodb/node_modules/mongodb-core/lib/connection/pool.js:429:16)
        at .messageHandler (/root/nodebb/node_modules/mongodb/node_modules/mongodb-core/lib/connection/pool.js:463:5)
        at Socket.<anonymous> (/root/nodebb/node_modules/mongodb/node_modules/mongodb-core/lib/connection/connection.js:317:22)
        at emitOne (events.js:96:13)
        at Socket.emit (events.js:188:7)
        at readableAddChunk (_stream_readable.js:172:18)
        at Socket.Readable.push (_stream_readable.js:130:10)
        at TCP.onread (net.js:542:20)
    

    And I have no idea how to drop tables like it was suggested in other topics for this issue.


  • Global Moderator

    @TaLoche the first error means you need to kill all of the node processes because NodeBB is still running.

    The second one has a solution on this forum but you shouldn't need to run ./nodebb setup

    By "web console", @julian meant check the browser JavaScript console for errors and warnings.



  • Thanks @PitaJ
    Yes, I figured the first error and you're right, the second one doesn't really matter, since nodebb can run just fine.

    Regarding errors in the Web Console with Chrome I have this

    acp.min.js?v=0ee92c85-fd2c-4b17-89be-6850365e30bf:9 Uncaught Error: Script error for "admin/settings/general"
    http://requirejs.org/docs/errors.html#scripterror
        at F (acp.min.js?v=0ee92c85-fd2c-4b17-89be-6850365e30bf:9)
        at HTMLScriptElement.onScriptError (acp.min.js?v=0ee92c85-fd2c-4b17-89be-6850365e30bf:9)
        at Function.g.load (acp.min.js?v=0ee92c85-fd2c-4b17-89be-6850365e30bf:9)
        at Object.load (acp.min.js?v=0ee92c85-fd2c-4b17-89be-6850365e30bf:9)
        at w.load (acp.min.js?v=0ee92c85-fd2c-4b17-89be-6850365e30bf:9)
        at w.fetch (acp.min.js?v=0ee92c85-fd2c-4b17-89be-6850365e30bf:9)
        at w.check (acp.min.js?v=0ee92c85-fd2c-4b17-89be-6850365e30bf:9)
        at w.enable (acp.min.js?v=0ee92c85-fd2c-4b17-89be-6850365e30bf:9)
        at Object.enable (acp.min.js?v=0ee92c85-fd2c-4b17-89be-6850365e30bf:9)
        at w.<anonymous> (acp.min.js?v=0ee92c85-fd2c-4b17-89be-6850365e30bf:9)
    

    and I also get this one

    acp.min.js:5:31243
    ws://mywebsite.com/socket.io/?EIO=3&transport=websocket&sid=SAHhHJgofRKGxakMAAAH has been interrupted while loading the page
    

  • Global Moderator

    @TaLoche I'm not sure what's causing that issue. Can you run it in dev mode with ./nodebb dev? That way it doesn't minify the javascript files and should provide for a better error readout.



  • Hi PitaJ,

    I went back to v1.4.1 in the meantime. I'll have some time tomorrow or Saturday, to use the image I made in v1.4.2 and run a ./nodebb dev as request and I'll let you know.

    Thanks for your help!



  • I have the same issue with the data texts, but no errors in my console.

    0_1483036263951_upload-89cba558-d735-4543-86ee-17db981d9e79


  • Global Moderator

    @teh_g is that on cold load? What happens when you try to go to a different page?



  • @PitaJ said in Issue with Admin Panel since upgrade to 1.4.2:

    @teh_g is that on cold load? What happens when you try to go to a different page?

    Same thing. Most of the pages have similar issues now that I click through...


  • Global Moderator

    @teh_g what language are you using? Can you test with en-GB selected in your user settings?



  • @PitaJ said in Issue with Admin Panel since upgrade to 1.4.2:

    @teh_g what language are you using? Can you test with en-GB selected in your user settings?

    I am using en-US.

    Switching to en-GB sort of works. On the initial load of the page, I get the same issue. If I do an F5 to reload, it shows the proper text.


  • Global Moderator

    @teh_g yeah I just pulled the latest from branch v1.x.x and I can't repro.



  • I installed nodebb today and have exactly the same issue.. using apache as reverse proxy. Didn't install any extra plugin.. only fresh install.



  • @PitaJ said in Issue with Admin Panel since upgrade to 1.4.2:

    @teh_g yeah I just pulled the latest from branch v1.x.x and I can't repro.

    Hmm, could it be tied to something on the OS? Maybe something with the DigitalOcean box I am running?


  • Global Moderator

    @teh_g I'd suggest trying ./nodebb build

    edit: I just tried it on linux as well. Worked fine.



  • @teh_g are you running it on a linux container (lxc)? Can I ask, are you using apache or nginx as proxy?


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to NodeBB was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.