You can change this in the ACP.
I'll start playing with my test setup, see if I can find something besides the default delete -> Purge option.
Edit: Seems to be posible by a database editor but its a bit of a pain, I'll write a guide on it here later. I'm also unsure if this will cause any side effects. So I'll keep testing for now.
Edit 2: Purging seems to do the same and is basicly faster so please do that instead...
@Kowlin the problem with purging is it doesn't remove the topic completely. For example, after purging, go to the topic's URL. You'll see the text "This topic has been deleted and only authorised people can see it". Also, the topic ID still exists in the database.
@henrywright I've noticed that too, and the thing is it still starts calculating from where you left off. For example, after purging topic 4, NodeBB will still count the new topic as topic 5. Also I think you are just deleting the topics, after the topic is deleted theres another option for purging (See gif below)
Edit: Feel free to send me a chat if you want to communicate a little faster.
@Kowlin Thank you for the .gif, that makes things a little clearer. You can purge 2 times. The first purge results in the authorised people only message and the 2nd purge gets rid of the URL. As you say, the next topic you create will begin where you left off (topic IDs aren't recycled).
@Kowlin : how can I make such an instruction GIF? Can you recommed a tool?
ever try redis commander?
@Fastidious I think it did but can't fully remember. Soon after I wrote my last post on this topic I reinstalled from scratch (deleted
/path/to/nodebb and did
redis-cli flushall) so removing unwanted topics and posts became less of a priority.
@henrywright well, that ought to flush them all right!
@Fastidious hehe I did feel like I was using a sledgehammer to crack a nut at the time.