registered-users, all users who register are added to this group
verified-users only users who have verified their email are in this group
unverified-users only users who have NOT verified their email are in this group
- means that group is inheriting it's privileges from the registered-users groups since all users are in that group.
If you want you can remove certain privileges from the registered-users group and only allow verified-users access to a category.