Following link to removed comment.


  • Translator

    I've experienced the following use-case yesterday and would like to discuss it on the forum, because it felt a little weird when navigating.

    I received a notification of a new message in a thread. When i clicked on the link on pushbullet/mail, the message was already removed by the author. I got the message "you don't have permission etc" when trying to navigate to the topic.

    It felt a little weird, because if i navigate to the thread, i can see that the message was removed. But the direct link doesn't let me access.

    I would expect the same behaviour from the link in the notification. Access to the topic, but the especific message shown as removed.

    I'm the only one whoy thinks that the actual behaviour is a little weird? I understand that tecnically, the actual behaviour is the standard way to manage it, so it's reflecting that the message is only directly visible by admins/moderators.


  • Translator

    Yup, this behavior is odd in my opinion, and I think that NodeBB should hide the thread from the list once its deleted, (not purged) but still show it for the thread creator and any staff with the privileges.


  • Translator

    @Kowlin said:

    Yup, this behavior is odd in my opinion, and I think that NodeBB should hide the thread from the list once its deleted, (not purged) but still show it for the thread creator and any staff with the privileges.

    In this scenario i wasn't admin neither i have more privileges than standar user, but i still think i shoul be able to navigate to the thread following the link to the removed message.


Log in to reply
 


Looks like your connection to NodeBB was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.