Hi @Redbeanw44602! Thanks for voicing your concerns.
In this particular change, the behaviour is only applied if explicitly enabled by the site admin. The default behaviour is unchanged: guests and regular users without email confirmed are able to browse the forum equally.
In the case where an admin wants to gate content behind email verification, they can also opt to use the verified-users privilege group.