Setting up nodeBB on dokku

• Hey people, I am extremely new to node.js, NodeBB & dokku but I've been trying to set up a nodeBB forum on my dokku image on digital ocean and although I have set up redis to work with the app when I run --setup it fails to connect to it, anyone else using a setup like this and any pointers for getting it working. The error I get is this;

error: Redis connection to [IP ADDRESS] failed - connect ECONNREFUSED

I have redis setup and dokku has linked the container to my forum container, I pass the correct IP & port during setup but the connection fails, I'm at a bit of a loss.

• @Sp4rkR4t

Is the redis-server running? And what distribution are you using?

• It's the dokku application image on digital ocean, it's running on ubuntu 13.04. How would I check that redis is running in this setup, finding it quite confusing atm.

• @Sp4rkR4t

I've not used Dokku, but I'm guessing that it will be the same as checking the status of any server on Ubuntu. Try this command: sudo service redis-server status.

• No, that just returns unrecognized service.

• @Sp4rkR4t

Ubuntu may not recognize it as a service, but maybe if you are inside the Dokku container, it will. Just a thought.

• Just tried running;

dokku run forum service redis-server status

and it returned the same.

• @Sp4rkR4t

The obvious question then is, is Redis installed? I know you said you said that "set up redis to work with the app," but it doesn't seem to be showing that.

• It does seem that dokku hasn't installed redis, trying to get it set up now. Through the guides I've been following and watching dokku auto-install and configure everything else I thought having the dokku redis plugin would install redis for my container, seems that isn't the case.

• GNU/Linux Admin