i also added this code to load default preferences (inside the "success" function when creating a new user)
User.setSetting(uid, 'dailyDigestFreq', 'week', null);
User.setSetting(uid, 'notificationSounds', 1, null);
User.setSetting(uid, 'followTopicsOnCreate', 1, null);
User.setSetting(uid, 'followTopicsOnReply', 1, null);
User.setSetting(uid, 'sendChatNotifications', 1, null);
kill -s USR1 $(fgrep -f "app.js")
or even shorter with pkill
pkill -USR1 -f "app.js"
Substitute -USR1 with -SIGHUP and you got yourself a quick and easy build-tool command to restart NodeBB, when changing files.
(I'm using SublimeText / Atom)
You know that if you edit a file of NodeBB itself it may refuse to update by git pull because a merge would be needed?
So it may be that you're working with an old version of NodeBB o_O
If you are able to delete a post you have the permission to also restore it. Because of this the post doesn't get removed but only gets less opacity (within the official themes).
I just don't know in which case the post could be removed from DOM after reload, may be an inofficial theme or an old version of NodeBB (maybe because of the reason above).