• GNU/Linux Admin

Note: This blog post is part one of a two-part series. The second part has not been posted yet.

I won't mince words — searching for things is hard. It ranks up there with password hashing, and given the opportunity, I'd farm out the process to a library that I know does the job.

Nobody I know personally has built a search index by hand, because it'd be a complete waste of time (especially since you'd be reinventing the wheel trying to solve a problem that's been solved multiple times already). So where does that leave us when it comes to forum software?

Click here to see the full blog post

• Ooooh, I had a suspicion there was something going on behind the scenes for search...

Solr seems to take up too much memory to be the default search, wonder what will emerge.

• I'm not a programmer, so I don't know what's involved, but is it that difficult to implement a search feature like what's available on Stack Overflow, Discourse and AskBot?

• @planner I believe stack overflow use elasticsearch, not sure about the other two though.

• GNU/Linux Admin

@planner From what I can tell, Discourse uses full-text searching built into their PostgreSQL database. Solr is like that, but with the advantage of being a discrete app from the forum itself

• I just posted my partial translation on our NodeBB Chinese forum. http://nodebb.org.cn/topic/8. Will continue going when @julian has more update.

• GNU/Linux Admin

@zenkamal said:

Solr seems to take up too much memory to be the default search, wonder what will emerge.

Solr also requires a hard dependency (need to install via apt or compile from source) and configuration, which makes it an automatic no-go for default inclusion in NodeBB.

Unless Reds phonetic search is loved by everybody, dbsearch will most likely be summarily executed from the package.json (sorry @baris 😄), meaning dbsearch and solr would be options for extending your NodeBB install.

• @julian