Deactivating Plugins Leaves Widget Residue


  • I'm not sure if it's just me, but I thought I'd mention it.

    I'm using @Schamper's shoutbox plugin and noticed if I deactivate the plugin without removing the widgets first there will be an empty object listed in on the page in the section where the widget would have been. So, I tested it with the widget-essentials too and it does the same thing...

    I'm on 0.5.1. Here is how you can duplicate:

    1. Drop any widget into a widget section (aka sidebar or MOTD)
    2. Deactivate the plugin that contains the widget
    3. Go to the page where the widget would have been and you should see
      the text '[Object object]' where the widget would have been
    4. Go to the ACP > Extend > Widgets section and the widget won't be listed where you added it.

    What makes this really confusing #4 because you can't get rid of it. It only reappears when you activate the plugin that had the widget again.

    Has anyone else experienced this?

    And if you added some custom widget sections in your theme.js (like a sidebar for topics.tpl in the vanilla theme), and changed the theme...god help you...but seriously, if you did do that hit me up and I'll tell you how to fix it.

Suggested Topics

| |