@Fastidious yes deleted posts/topics aren't removed from the database they are just hidden. If you want to completely remove them purge them after you delete.
@prog crawlers just see "this post is deleted" like regular users. They don't see the actual content.
So... NodeBB never deletes the post? Does the delete, in fact, just "hide"?