Introduce yourself!!!

General Discussion
  • Hey, I'm surprised this thread hasn't happened yet! I'd love to know more about our community members so here goes ๐Ÿ™‚

    I'm from Malaysia, living in Canada with @baris and @julian. Majored in biochem but always had a soft spot for programming, ever since I was a kid. After uni ended up working at a videogame company with the aforementioned. So we've been a team for ever and I guess eventually we ended up deciding to start something together and here we are building NodeBB ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love RPGs, football (diehard spurs fan), and I play in a band, well not right now because I'm too busy with NodeBB ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I also like long walks on the beach, and romantic comedies, owait this is the wrong place for that.

  • Err so I'll go next I suppose.

    I'm from Turkey, moved to Canada some 5 years ago. I have a degree in architecture and I started a masters on CS but never finished. I have started programming before @psychobunny was born.

    If I'm not working on NodeBB, I am probably playing either Civ5, Diablo3 or some old game like HoMM3 or the like. I used to play basketball back in highschool and uni but got too old for that stuff now.

    I'm married and got 2 kids(read cats).


  • woah woah woah what you used to play bball? I can't believe that. alright! letsplay.

    I have started programming before @psychobunny was born.

    Well I guess programming should be easy back in the day when they taught you how to use the abacus in highschool you must have been psyched!

  • I'm male, from germany, currently studying bachelor in computer science.
    I've been interested in programming since early ages (started small HTML/js websites with 13/14 thought). Maybe this got quite influenced by my family (father is programmer, brother studied computer science few years ago).

    Working quite much on NodeBB plugins (and PRs) besides uni these days.
    I've two other projects working on, one together with my brother (node.js, currently porting to vert.x/groovy) and one by my own in groovy (a game :P).

    Most music I'm listening goes from heavy metal to rock: sabaton, metallica, bullet for my vallentine, stone sour, hammerfall. but also a great fan of a german medieval metal band: schandmaul...

    Besides riding by bike to uni (about 5km, ca. 3 miles) I don't do frequent sports but I like badminton and pool pretty much :).

  • @baris lived in germany for a while I think?

    Most music I'm listening goes from heavy metal to rock: sabaton, metallica

    Yeah I loved this kind of music. First song I sought to learn on the guitar was Master of Puppets ๐Ÿ˜‰ These days more of a fan of older rock (ex. Rolling stones) and I absolutely love Nirvana.

  • Actually I was born in Germany/Krefeld.

  • @baris nice, I'm a bit more east, Goettingen ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Born and live in the UK, I'm 23, been interested in web design since MySpace let you add code into the about us and CSS into interests section to customise the page, got my first paid gig building a static site for an education company, charged ยฃ400 for something that ended up taking me 5 months of changes. Got into php and shortly after magento, which is what I specialise in now, I've built 10-15 ecommerce stores for clients, left an agency last June where I was a senior developer with them to set up my own web design company, for better or worse. (I miss regular payments)

    A drum n bass forum I used to visit with 100k members shut down due to costs, I created a replacement for the regular members, the original site was bought, so a few have gone back there, still got a small userbase, but with nodebb am planning on expanding into other genres, then utilising @psychobunny s blog comments plugin when it supports Wordpress and multiple blogs to reinvigorate discussions and take over the world. ๐Ÿ˜„

    And I have a slight addiction to caffeine, but that's a trending theme in development. ๐Ÿ‘

  • when it supports Wordpress

    I've kept promising about this... I think it's about time I seriously consider working on this again ๐Ÿ˜› It's blocked by a couple of major architectural changes, one of which was already done in 0.3x, but yeah I will think about it sooner than later. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • @psychobunny Take as long as you need buddy, it gives my competitors time to update xenforo. ๐Ÿ˜ˆ

  • I'm Julian, I'm from Hong Kong, although I came to Canada when I was 4, so I suppose that makes me more Canadian than anything.

    Started NodeBB with these two foreigners (except @baris is a citizen now, yay ๐Ÿ˜„ ) ๐Ÿ‘

    Ah, I like RTS games, though I'm absolute rubbish at it. Loved AoK, would definitely play again if it was less than $20 (I mean, I originally played AoK for free, so...). I owe @bentael at least one race in Need for Speed.

    I actually majored in Music ( ๐Ÿ˜„ ) but have been programming since I was 13 or 14, when I wanted to make my Neopets storefront look nice, since they let you put in your own HTML. <marquee> and <blink> all the way!

  • I'm James from Colorado in the United States. I believe I am 24, but its been a while since I paid attention to my actual age. I got married almost two years ago and have a son and another child on the way. I realized at the age of 13 that I wanted to be a programmer after playing with phpbb2. Since then I went to college and got a Bachelor degree in Computer Science. I currently work at an insurance illustration software company (currently working on a Canadian companies new product) using C#, ASP, and JavaScript. I am what we call a User Interface developer here and I am constantly recognized as one of the best(not quite the best). They like to give me the tough issues to fix that no one else can figure out, but I don't really see why as I don't think I am that good considering I only graduated in 2012. I hope to one day start my own video game development company, but I have doubts that it will ever happen.

    I like RPGs, some FPS, RTS, and anything else that looks interesting.

    Oh, and I have a parrot named Pterrabyte.

  • Everyone has these long ass stories...

    I'm Erik from the Netherlands (woo Amsterdam etc), currently studying for my Bachelor in CS. I have a little web development side business with a classmate and friend, even though I probably don't want to end up in that market.

    My interest for programming started when I wanted to drop a level in ... highschool? I never know how to "translate" school systems. Anyway I couldn't change midyear so I had to look for something to kill half a year with, and programming sparked my interest.
    Fun fact, I first started out with creating "cheat codes" for the PSP... So I know quite a lot of MIPS that I'll probably never use again. I have to admit it does come in handy sometimes when I want to "patch" certain Android games to get rid of their micro transaction currency...

    Games? Anything that looks interesting at the moment and that I have the time for. Currently a lot of Gang Beasts in between (and during) classes.
    Music? Really anything that suits my mood and the time of the year. I'm a big fan of Radiohead but I'll listen to anything that just sounds relaxing and "chill".

  • I'm Kamal, living in San Francisco California. Soon to be 34 years old, and am a researcher in the field of nutrition.

    My cat has been featured on the front page of reddit, which makes me soooooo proud ๐Ÿ™‚

    I've been lurking on forums since BBS and telnet was the internet, but now it's time to launch my own!

  • I'm Trevor, 24, from Atlanta, Georgia. I design stuff.

  • Trevor that was so disappointing. Where's the story and drama! Lets hear it!. ๐Ÿ˜›

  • @HolyPhoenix

    and another child on the way

    Congrats in advanced ๐Ÿ™‚ And you have a parrot, that's amazing. Maybe we should make it NodeBB's mascot ๐Ÿ˜›


    I'm Erik from the

    Unfortunately, I'll always know you as Mr. Waffles ๐Ÿ˜› I love Radiohead too btw Paranoid Android ftw ๐Ÿ™‚

    My cat has been featured on the front page of reddit

    Pinging @baris you're his idol now ๐Ÿ˜›

  • Well since you guys are disappointed in my short and sweet story, I'll make it more elaborate and excuse me but its everywhere. It is poorly written and I just woke up. -_-'

    I've been on the Internet ever since I was 8 years old. My first computer I ever had was an old IBM with a Pentium 3 processor. I broke it several times in which case I fixed it myself due to the desperation of being on the computer and chatting on AOL with random strangers. Later on I was banned from AOL for talking shit in which case I moved on to Earthlink and finally Comcast. When I was almost 9 years old I started designing sites for fun using Geocities in which case I was just playing around with but was really not too good at it. On top of all of this I loved playing video games. My first console was a Sega Genesis and I remember the first game my mom bought me was Road Rash. When I was 10 I was really into the whole Pokemon thing for years to come. I was perhaps the youngest Member Plus on MSN Games in which case I use to play Age of Empires a lot. I have a pretty deep gaming background.

    I did get into the whole DJ'ing thing as well when I was 14 -16. I even DJ'ed at a few clubs and plenty of birthday parties when I was 17 and 18. At that same time, I was still into the whole web development thing. I've played around with almost every programming language you can think of yet none of them I have mastered. I've played around with almost every forum there is out there including enterprise ones like Jive.

    To be honest, I have no interest in Social Media. The whole Twitter and Instagram thing to me are lame. Facebook is just as lame only I do have family on there that I talk to every now and then that want to hang out. I see them for networking purposes which is cool, I guess, but it really doesn't excite me too much.

    I'm a pretty laid back guy, I don't really talk much and I don't get upset too often. I dress pretty casual and neutral most of the time. My favorite color is black although some people don't consider it an actual color. If you ask me a question expect a direct blunt response with no sugar coated bullshit. I believe I was put on this planet with a purpose - which is what I am still trying to figure out to this day. I am not religious at all - I think it's a joke. I'm always asked to go to church, but I see no real purpose besides getting out the house. The fact that I get pressured in going makes me not want to go even more. I see certain people that are so into going to change their lives but as soon as that door opens for them to leave they are the same person nonetheless.

    Smoking weed makes me lazy and drinking makes me tired. I only drink Almond Milk, none of that dairy shit...

    Well thats all I have for now. Theres more, like my college experience, and having a child for the first time. ๐Ÿ‘

    You were probably expecting more talks on my design background and such. Well it says introduce yourself so I think that was more than enough.

  • I'm Josh, from UK.

    Got a BSc in Digital Forensics and currently working for an IT company that provides internet, CCTV, Support, network installations. A bit of a do it all company.
    Used to be into PSP hacking codes the same as @Schamper but only with a plugin developed for the PSP, tried to get into MIPS but didn't really have the heart to get my head around it.

    I have some general knowledge about webdev, programming, servers, and tech as a whole but nothing specific.

    Games don't really do much for me any more but I think thats because i may be getting to old for gaming, 23 isnt too old is it?

Suggested Topics